[Linux-aus] Linux developer directory: anyone know of one?

Bret Busby bret at busby.net
Tue Nov 4 17:45:02 UTC 2003

On Tue, 4 Nov 2003, Bret Busby wrote:

> On Tue, 4 Nov 2003, David Lloyd wrote:
> > 
> > 
> > Bret,
> > 
> > > After seeing your message, I went to the web page, and, still have no 
> > > idea where it is located.
> > 
> > Nor do I...I'm talking about stickycorp.com btw.
> > 
> > > I thought that perhaps the page could have some functionality that was 
> > > limuted by my browser (Mozilla 1.02, running on RH Linux 7.3), so viewed
> > 
> > It's not just you, I don't think. My Mozilla (1.5 with the Flash and Java
> > plugins) doesn't seem to do anything sensible.
> > 
> > > the source code. No information in that, about the web page developers, 
> > > or the company location.
> > 
> > Same here.
> > 
> > However, I pose you this question: if YOU were SpamAssassin and given the
> > written content of that web-page would you start marking it up? To be
> > honest I certainly would.
> > 
> > I'm gettting this horrid suspicion we're both talking about spam on
> > linux-aus ;-(
> > 
> > 
> > DSL
> > 
> That hadn't occurred to me. Probably my naivety.
> In looking at the text on the web page, in the context of your 
> appraisal, and, thinking about it a bit more, I believe that it may or 
> may not be a spammy thing.
> The second sentence appears to indicate that whatever the product is, it 
> might (?) be a thing to analyse marketing effectiveness, like one of 
> those things that is used by Amazon (if they still use it), where an 
> affiliate has a clickable link, where a customer, for example, goes to 
> your web page, and, from there, follows a link to the Amazon web site, 
> where the customer buys (for example) a copy of the Complete Oxford 
> Dictionary, fruit bat leather edition, with Tantalum edging on the 
> pages, at 12,000GBP, and the path has been followed by the Amazon 
> tracking software, so that you get the commission, as the referring web 
> site, for the sale.
> Thus, the product could (?) be some kind of marketing path analysis 
> tool.
> However, whether a product exists, is another question.
> On the web page, is "ConnectCode TM", as in, a trademarked product, 
> ConnectCode. But, a mouseover of ConnectCode, provides no information 
> about either any Trademark registration ("Trademark registered to Monty 
> Python, 2025", etc), or, any product details ("ConnectCode - a product 
> that connects one line of code to another" :) ).
> Given the message that was first posted, and, the nature of the web 
> page, I wonder (also, with the use of the .com domain, and no ACN or 
> ARBN, included on the web page, which I would expect, for an Australian 
> company or registered business), what exactly, exists, if anything.
> Using www.whois.net, I found that the domain name is registered to the 
> poster of the message, Graham Lauren, (and, NOT a company name or 
> business name), in Bondi, NSW. And, the address could be a residential 
> flat.
> Overall, it appears to me, to be a person, who has registered a domain 
> name, and set up a web page (not very well), to advertise a marketing 
> product that has (apparently) been Trademarked, but which product 
> doesn't yet exist -
> "
> On Tue, 4 Nov 2003, Graham Lauren wrote:
> > I'm seeking a developer to build a Linux database-backed web site. 
> "
> Does that perhaps sound like what the "ConnectCode TM", might be 
> intended to be?
> A domain name registered to indicate a company, with a business (?) that 
> is not registered, with a (hastily created) web page that advertises a 
> product that, as mentioned, smells like spam, with a trademarked (with 
> no details of any trademark) name (and no details of a product to which 
> the name applies), of a product, which is apparently yet to created?
> As you said, David, "hmmm..."

And, it has just occurred to me, after reviewing the web page, that the 
bottom of the web page says "(c) 2003 StickyCorp Pty Ltd", which 
indicates a registered, limited liability company. But, apparently, one 
that does not have (or publish), either the relevant ACN, or, the 
relevant ARBN (sometimes they can be the same, sometimes, they are not, 
from memory).

Strange, that the registration of the domain name, includes no mention 
of any registered company, or, any registered business, or, any entity, 
with the name "StickyCorp"....

"Hmmmm... and, hmmm again..."

And, yes, David, in the context of all of these points, if I were 
SpamAssassin, I would be "aiming the blowpipe"...

Bret Busby
West Australia

"So once you do know what the question actually is,
 you'll know what the answer means."
- Deep Thought,
  Chapter 28 of 
  "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy:
  A Trilogy In Four Parts",
  written by Douglas Adams, 
  published by Pan Books, 1992 

More information about the linux-aus mailing list