[Linux-aus] Call for Nominations for Rusty Wrench Award 2019

Linux Australia President president at linux.org.au
Thu Oct 25 16:49:46 AEDT 2018

Hi everyone,

The Rusty Wrench Award is Australia's highest honour for community 
contributions to the open source movement in the country, eponymously 
named for luminary Rusty Russell. one of Australia's most prominent 
contributors and community members, and founder of linux.conf.au (as 
CALU, in 1999), and inaugural recipient of the award.

The Rusty Wrench Award is an award started by Jeff Waugh to recognise 
outstanding service to the Australian and New Zealand Free and Open 
Source Software community.

In previous years, nominations for this award have been done via web 
form, however as we're transitioning to a new web site, nominations will 
be done this year via email.

The Council and Rusty Wrench previous recipients will then review the 
nominations and may choose to award to the Rusty Wrench.

Please send your nomination to council at linux.org.au with the subject 
line "Rusty Wrench Nomination: NAME OF NOMINEE", and include a paragraph 
on why you believe he/she/they should be awarded the Rusty Wrench.

*Winners of the Rusty Wrench Award:*

  * 2017 - Michael Still and Michael Davies (joint award)
  * 2016 - No award made
  * 2015 — Steve Walsh
  * 2014 — Andrew Tridgell
  * 2013 — Donna Benjamin
  * 2012 — Mary Gardiner
  * 2008–2011: no award made
  * 2007 — Kim Weatherall
  * 2006 — Pia Waugh
  * 2005 — Rusty Russell

Nominations should be received no later than 30th November 2018.

Kind regards,


Kathy Reid
Linux Australia

0418 130 636

president at linux.org.au

Linux Australia Inc
GPO Box 4788
Sydney NSW 2001

ABN 56 987 117 479

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.linux.org.au/pipermail/linux-aus/attachments/20181025/c182a54e/attachment-0001.html>

More information about the linux-aus mailing list