[Linux-aus] Elections for 2007 Committee

Jonathan Oxer president at linux.org.au
Wed Nov 29 09:53:01 UTC 2006

Hi LA,

We're just about to enter the election period for the 2007 Committee for
Linux Australia, so if you're not yet a member (it's free!) please point
your browser at http://www.linux.org.au/membership/ and sign up so that
you can vote or stand for nomination.

The election will be held online through MemberDB and will end exactly
at the start of the AGM: 5:30pm on Jan 16th 2007. Full details of the
election are available at the above URL but for reference the details
are included below.

I'd like to thank all the members of the current committee for their
commitment and dedication to LA. It's been an honour to serve with you
all. For the record, the Committee for 2006 has been:

President:      Jonathan Oxer
Vice President: Pia Waugh
Secretary:      Anthony Towns
Treasurer:      Terry Dawson
Members:        James Purser
                Stewart Smith
                Leon Brooks (position partly held by Janet Hawtin)
                Janet Hawtin (on behalf of Leon Brooks)

Cheers    :-)

Jonathan Oxer

LA Committee Election 2007 details copied from:

Item                 Start            End              Status
Visible              22/11/2006 00:00                  visible
Nominations          01/12/2006 00:00 31/12/2006 23:59 closed
Advertise Candidates 01/01/2007 00:00                  not yet visible
Voting               09/01/2007 00:00 16/01/2007 17:30 not yet open
Results              16/01/2007 17:31                  not available

The following positions are being voted on:

President (1)
        Responsible for ensuring the smooth running of LA according to
        the LA vision. The President often has to speak on behalf of LA
        to the press, other organisations, and the community. The
        President effectively need to keep the committee and other
        individuals enthused and progressive in their work for LA and
        the wider community.
Vice-President (1)
        The Vice President supports the President in all Presidential
        responsibilities, as well as taking over in these duties when
        the President is unable.
Secretary (1)
        The Secretary must ensure all member details are kept up to date
        and accessible. The Secretary also takes the minutes and ensures
        that the minutes are accessible. The Secretary is responsible
        for any necessary correspondence between the members and
Treasurer (1)
        The Treasurer's job is to maintain smooth running of the
        organisation from an accounting point of view. All monies are to
        be collected and payments authorised. Correct books need to be
        kept showing the financial affairs of the organisation. The
        treasurer typically also has to work closely with the LCA
        (http://linux.conf.au) team to ensure that LCA is properly
        funded by LA. 
        See Section 17 of the Constitution for full details:
Ordinary Committee Members (3)
        The Ordinary Committee Members help with the running of the
        organisation, help push initiatives that fall into the scope of
        the LA vision, and generally keep some sanity in the
There must be at least 2 nominations for somebody before they can become
a candidate. The following nominations exist:

      * There are no current nominations for this position.
      * There are no current nominations for this position.
      * There are no current nominations for this position.
      * There are no current nominations for this position.
Ordinary Committee Members
      * There are no current nominations for this position.
Candidates are not yet visible.

Votes are cast by filling out a web form. Voting is preferential, but
you do not have to give preferences to all candidates. You can only vote
for candidates (see above list). After you have voted, an email is sent
to you with the details of your vote.

Voting is currently closed. You may not vote at this time.

More information about the linux-aus mailing list